Home Page of Amitava Raychaudhuri

Present Position: Professor Emeritus

Email: palitprof[at]gmail.com, amitavaraychaudhuri[at]yahoo.com
Tel: +91 33 23525631, +91 33 23508386 ext. 509

University of Calcutta B.Sc.(Hons) 1970
University of Delhi M.Sc. 1973
University of Maryland Ph.D. 1977

PH. D. THESIS: 'On the application of the N-Quantum approximation method to bound state problems'.
Thesis Supervisor: Professor O. W. Greenberg, University of Maryland.

D.Sc. (honoris causa) 2017 University of Gour Banga
D.Sc. (honoris causa) 2017 University of North Bengal

Graduate Teaching and Research Assistant, University of  Maryland, U.S.A., 1973-77.
Research Associate, Department of Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford,U.K.,1977-79.
Visiting Fellow, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay 1979-80.
Lecturer (1980-86), Reader (1987-96), Sir Tarak Nath Palit
Professor (1996-present), Department of Physics, University of Calcutta.
Director, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, (2005 - 2011). (On leave from the University of Calcutta).
Visiting Professor, Department of Physics, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK 74078, U.S.A. Jan - June, 1998 (On leave from the University of Calcutta).
CEC 'Marie Curie' Senior Post-doctoral Fellowship, Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K., 1994. (On leave from the University of Calcutta).
Indo-U.S. (Senior Fulbright) Fellow, Theoretical Physics Group, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, Berkeley, California,
U.S.A., 1988-89. (On leave from the University of Calcutta.)
  Scientific Associate, Theory Division, C.E.R.N., Geneva, Switzerland, 1983-84. (On leave from the University of Calcutta.)
  Short (One to three month) visits to A.S.I.C.T.P.(Trieste), C.E.R.N.(Geneva), Univ. of Rome, Univ. of Padova, etc.

Publication List:
More than 110 well-cited published papers in leading international journals, many other papers in conference publications, and five edited books.
Publications can be found in the webpage: http://inspirehep.net/search?ln=en&p=a+raychaudhuri,amitava&of=hb

Current Research Area: Particle Physics (Neutrino Physics, GUTs, Extra Dimensions, etc.)

Awards, etc.
National Merit Certificate and Prize, Govt. of India, 1967.
National Science Talent Search Scholarship, Govt. of India,1967.
Best incoming graduate students' prize, Univ. of Maryland, 1974.
Indian National Science Academy Young Scientist Award, 1982.
National Associate (1982-87), University Grants Commission, India.
Associate Member (1984-90), International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy.
Career Award (1985-88), University Grants Commission, India.
Indo-U.S. (Senior Fulbright) Fellowship (1988-89), University Grants Commission, India and Council for International Exchange of Scholars, Washington D.C., U.S.A.
Theoretical Physics Seminar Circuit Speaker 1990-91, 1995-96, 1997-99, and 2004-05.
Senior Associate (1991-97), (1998-05) The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy.
CEC 'Marie Curie' Senior Post-doctoral Fellowship (February - July, 1994), Commission of European Communities, Brussels, Belgium and the Department of Science and Technology, India.
Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1997).
Fellow, Indian National Science Academy (2002).
Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India (2004).
International Alumnus of the Year (2005), University of Maryland Alumni Association.
Meghnad Saha Memorial Gold Medal (2005), The Asiatic Society, Kolkata.
Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (2006).
Homi Bhabha Lecturership (2006), Institute of Physics, UK and Indian Physics Association.
J.C. Bose Fellowship, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India (2010-)
Shiksha Ratna, Government of West Bengal (2016)

ISRO (1983-86), UGC (1985-88), INSA (1985-88), DAE (1989-92), DST(1989-2005), CSIR (1993-2003), ECRA (1997-2000), J.C. Bose

Current: J.C. Bose Fellowship SERB/DST Rs. 1,30,59,000/00 (2010-)
Also co-P.I. in an SERB-EMR project (PI: Prof. Anindya Datta)

Ph.D. supervision
Completed Ph.D.s:
Utpal Sarkar, Biswarup Mukhopadhyaya, Aditi Ray-Mukhopadhyaya, Sreerup Raychaudhuri, Gautam Bhattacharyya, Srubabati Goswami, Anindya Datta, Subhendu Rakshit, Arunansu Sil, Swarup Kumar Majee, Sanjib Kumar Agarwalla, Joydeep Chakrabortty, Ujjal Kumar Dey.

Ongoing: Soumita Pramanick (soumitapramanick5@gmail.com),
Triparno Bandyopadhyay (gondogloegogol@gmail.com).

The following scientists have been mentored at the post-doctoral level:
Krishnanath Bandyopadhyaya, Debasish Majumdar, Rathin Adhikari, Abhijit Samanta, Subrata Khan

Several M.Sc./B.Sc./B.E./B.Tech students of IITs, NITs, Universities and elsewhere have been mentored for their summer projects. Teacher fellows have all worked on summer projects.

Genealogy tree updated till 2013 (.pdf) (thanks to Sreerup Raychaudhuri)

Other (at present or earlier):
Journal paper refereeing, Thesis evaluation, Faculty Career Progression evaluation, etc.

Chairman, JBNSTS; Chair, SERB Young Scientist Expert Committee for Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Member of several University Executive Councils, University Courts, Academic Councils, etc.; Member of several research institute Governing Councils; Member of a number of committees of CSIR/DST/SERB/UGC etc.

Back to People List


Department of Physics - University of Calcutta © 2017.
This is a Century Websites creation